Tuesday, August 9, 2022


Niger Tornadoes win 2020/2021 NNL Super 8

Niger Tornadoes win 2020/2021 NNL Super 8
September 13
09:17 2021

Niger Tornadoes have won the 2020/2021 Nigeria National League (NNL) Super 8 after defeating Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan 3-2 in the final in Enugu.

The match was played at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium in Enugu on Sunday, as Shamsudeen Asheun opened the scoring in the 9th minute for Niger Tornadoes.

Then Gafar Olafimihan, through a penalty kick, equalised for 3SC in the 16th minute.

Ahmed Liman and Augustine reinstated Tornadoes’ advantage and established a two-goal lead in the 57th and 64th minutes respectively before Raheem Quadry reduced the scoreline to 3-2.


The rescheduled match between Remo Stars and Bendel Insurance ended 2-2.

The match, which ought to have been held on Saturday, was postponed because Insurance refused to have their players on the pitch.

The result ensures that Remo Stars joined Niger Tornadoes, 3SC and Gombe United as the newly promoted teams to the 2021/2022  Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL).


Olafimihan finished with the highest goal scorer of the season award with 16 goals and the most valuable player (MVP) award.

The best goalkeeper of the season award went to Charles Tembe of 3SC, while the coach of the season went to Mohammed Bala.

Giant Brilla FC of Enugu, who survived the season by the whiskers, won the best-behaved team of the season.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment