Categories: BusinessOn the GoTop Stories

Nigeria absent as 44 African countries sign free trade agreement

Leaders from 44 African countries on Wednesday signed an agreement to form a $2.5 trillion continental free-trade zone, but Nigeria was absent.

The free-trade zone is the largest in the world since the creation of the World Trade Organisation in 1995.

Deliberations on the free-trade zone begun in 2015 and was originally projected to capture 55 countries.

At the African Union summit in Kigali, Rwanda, Paul Kagame, host president, declared the meeting a success after initial negotiations were concluded.

President Muhammadu Buhari had been initially scheduled to attend the summit and sign the agreement after the federal executive council gave its approval at its March 14 meeting.

The trip was cancelled on Sunday, March 18 and the presidency did not give a reason for the development.


Recent Posts

  • On the Go
  • Top Stories

TRENDING VIDEO: ‘I can’t drive a plane’ — CJN errs while responding to question at senate

The social media is abuzz as a result of Ibrahim Muhammad's, chief justice of Nigeria (CJN), screening at the senate…

30 mins ago
  • On the Go
  • Top Stories

Passengers panic as man prevents aircraft from leaving Lagos airport

Passenger on board a Port Harcourt-bound plane panicked on Friday after an unidentified man prevented an aircraft  from leaving Murtala…

37 mins ago
  • Viewpoint

The coming Civil War II and cast of characters

Just last week I wrote about my recent chance encounter with a foreign diplomat and the discussion that ensued between…

2 hours ago
  • On the Go
  • The Nation

PDP tenders 1,353 results sheets at presidential tribunal

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has tendered a total of 1,353 result sheets at the presidential election petitions tribunal. At…

2 hours ago
  • Business
  • On the Go
  • Top Stories

HURRAY! NERC says you can get prepaid meters and pay later

The Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) says electricity customers will be allowed to get prepaid meters and pay later. Speaking…

3 hours ago