Tuesday, January 26, 2021



No mercy for Messi as UEFA announces player of the year nominees

No mercy for Messi as UEFA announces player of the year nominees
August 20
18:40 2018

Lionel Messi, a favourite among Barcelona fans, will not be a contender for the 2018 edition of UEFA men’s player award.


The Barcelona forward, who is a three-time winner of the award, was however shortlisted for the forward of the season award.

Cristiano Ronaldo, newly-signed Juventus player, Mo Salah, Liverpool forward, and Luka Modric, Real Madrid midfielder, are the three finalists.

The trio was shortlisted by a jury of 80 coaches and 55 journalists.


The winner of the award, alongside other categories, will be announced on August 30 during the Champions League group stage draw in Monaco.

In the 2017/2018 season, Ronaldo won his fifth Champions League title with Real Madrid and finished top scorer for the sixth consecutive season.

Salah, whose team reached the Champions League final only to lose to Real Madrid, scored 44 goals last season.


Modric, who won the Champions League alongside Cristiano Ronaldo, was a runner-up at the 2018 FIFA World Cup, winning the Golden Ball.

The UEFA award recognises the best players, irrespective of nationality, playing for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season.

Players are judged on their performances in all competitions – domestic, continental and international.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment