Inside Nigeria

Ondo assembly confirms five of six commissioner nominees  

BY News Agency


The Ondo state house of assembly has screened and confirmed five out of the six persons nominated by Lucky Aiyedatiwa, the governor, as commissioners. 

Aiyedatiwa had on February 2 submitted the names of six commissioner nominees to the state house of assembly for screening and confirmation.

The nominees screened and confirmed were Olukayode Ajulo, Razaq Obe, Emmanuel Igbasan, Akinwumi Sowore and Oseni Oyeniyi.

Omowumi Isaac, the sixth commissioner nominee was not available for the screening exercise.


Presenting the report of his committee to the assembly on Tuesday, Abayomi Akinruntan, chairman of the selection committee, said the nominees possessed the relevant academic qualifications and were found physically and mentally fit to serve as commissioners.

He, therefore, asked the lawmakers to confirm the nominees.

Subsequently, Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi, member of the house, moved a motion for the confirmation of the nominees.


Felix Afe, member representing Akoko north-west constituency II, seconded the motion.

Olamide Oladiji, the speaker of the house, commended the efforts of the committee for a job well done.

Oladiji said the assembly acted on the extant law following the presentation of the nominees for confirmation.

He said the legislative have found the nominees competent to serve the people of the state.


He asked the commissioner-designates to join hands with the state governor to ensure the dividends of democracy get to the people of the state.

Oladiji also enjoined them to diligently serve the people and move the state forward.

Responding, Igbasan, who spoke on behalf of others, appreciated the assembly and promised that the commissioner-designates would support the state governor in achieving greater success.

This website uses cookies.