Tuesday, March 5, 2024


Oshoala, Nnadozie named finalists for 2023 CAF women’s best player award

Oshoala, Nnadozie named finalists for 2023 CAF women’s best player award
November 27
14:09 2023

The Nigerian duo of Asisat Oshoala and Chiamaka Nnadozie has been listed among the final ten nominees for the 2023 CAF women’s player of the year award.

CAF revealed the final shortlist for the categories of the women’s awards in a thread of posts on its X account on Monday.

Only Oshoala and Nnadozie were named among the finalists out of the seven Nigerians nominated in the earlier 30-player list.

Rasheedat Ajibade, Uchenna Kanu, Osinachi Ohale, Toni Payne and Christy Ucheibe failed to make the final cut for the prestigious award.


Oshoala is the current holder of the top prize after winning the 2022 edition of the award. The triumph was her fifth time winning the award — surpassing Perpetua Nkwocha, the former Falcons striker.

Nnadozie was also named among the finalists for the women’s goalkeeper of the year, while Randy Waldrum, Super Falcons head coach, got the nod for coach of the year.

For the best young player of the year, the Nigerian duo of Deborah Abiodun and Esther Ajakaye were also named among the finalists for the award.


The Super Falcons also made the shortlist of contenders for the women’s national team of the year.

Earlier this month, Victor Osimhen was named among the final ten candidates for the CAF men’s player of the year nominees list.

The 2023 CAF awards show will be held on December 11 in Marrakech, Morocco.


Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.