Osimhen missing as CAF names Ekong, Aina, Lookman in AFCON best XI

The Super Eagles trio of William Troost-Ekong, Ola Aina and Ademola Lookman has been named in the best eleven of the just concluded Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cote d’Ivoire.

CAF announced the lineup in a post on its X account on Wednesday.

Nigeria had the highest number of players on the list alongside Cote d’Ivoire, the winners.

Troost-Ekong, who was named the player of the tournament, was included in the lineup, with Ola Aina slotted in as the best right-back while Ademola Lookman was the only Nigerian attacker named.


Victor Osimhen, the 2023 African footballer of the year, was missing from the best eleven.

Cote d’Ivoire had Franck Kessie, Jean Seri and Ghislain Konan, while Ronwen Williams and Teboho Mokoena was named from the South African team.

The Democratic Republic of Congo had Chancel Mbemba and Yoane Wissa in the best team, while Equatorial Guinea’s Emilio Nsue completed the lineup.


The Super Eagles of Nigeria were defeated 2-1 by Cote d’Ivoire in the final on Sunday.

President Bola Tinubu received the team on Tuesday. The president granted every member of the squad a national honour, land and flat gift in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).


Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.