Wednesday, September 27, 2023


PDP kicks as APC wins all seats in Ekiti LG polls

PDP kicks as APC wins all seats in Ekiti LG polls
December 05
22:35 2021

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the seats declared in the local government election held on Saturday

Jide Aladejana, the chairman of the state independent electoral commission, announced the result on Sunday in Ado-Ekiti.

He said the councillorship election was postponed in Erinjiyan ward, following the violence that broke out in the town during the election.

He appreciated security agencies, staff of the commission, and the electorate for their efforts in ensuring the successful conduct of the election.


The election was held across the 16 LGAs and the 19 local council development areas (LCDAs) as well as the 177 wards of the state.

Reacting to the election results, Raphael Adeyanju, the state PDP publicity secretary, called the exercise a “sham and unconstitutional”.

According to NAN, Adeyanju said the result of the election and the low turnout of voters confirmed “fears by the party that the result had already been pre-determined by the ruling APC ahead of the poll”.


He also said the conduct of election in the newly created LCDAs is “unconstitutional”, claiming that since the constitution of Nigeria only recognised the existing 16 LGAs in state, the election in the 19 LCDAs was “a waste of resources”.

Prior to the LG poll, the major opposition party in the state had announced its intention to boycott the election, claiming that the APC administration in the state was “incapable of organising credible, free and fair elections without violence”.

Meanwhile, five other political parties who participated in the poll are Action Alliance (AA), African Democratic Congress (ADC), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), National Rescue Movement (NRM), and Young Progressives Party (YPP).



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying!