PHOTOS: Wike’s wife among 22 judges sworn in to court of appeal

Eberechi Wike, wife of Nyesom Wike, minister of the federal capital territory (FCT).

Eberechi Wike, wife of Nyesom Wike, minister of the federal capital territory (FCT), has been sworn in as a justice of the court of appeal.

Eberechi was among the 22 justices newly elevated to the court of appeal on Wednesday.

Speaking at the inauguration of the justices held at the supreme court headquarters in Abuja on Wednesday, Olukayode Ariwoola, chief justice of Nigeria (CJN), charged the judicial officers to remain faithful to the law, the constitution, and the oath of office in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Ariwoola warned against misleading and conflicting judgements, adding that errant judges would be made to face the consequences of their “despicable and odious conduct”.


“Punitive measures must be meted out to such erring judges,” he added.

“We have already activated the process of reining in such errant judges with a view to making them face the consequences of their despicable and odious conduct.”

The newly appointed 22 justices are Abdullahi Muhammad Liman from Nasarawa State; Abiodun Azeem Akinyemi from Ogun state; Olukayode Adegbola Adeniyi from Oyo state; Zainab Bage Abubakar from Kebbi state; Isaq Mohammed Sani from Kaduna state; Lateef Babajide Lawal-Akapo from Lagos state; and Ngozika U. Okaisabor from Imo state.


Others are Donatus Nwaezuoke Okorowo from Enugu state; Ruqayat Oremei Ayoola from Kogi State; Polycarp Terna Kwahar from Benue state; Eberechi Suzzette Nyesom-Wike from Rivers state; Fadawa Umaru from Borno state; Oyewumi Oyejoju Oyebiola from Oyo state; Ntong Festus Ntong from Akwa Ibom State; Nehizena Idemudia Afolabi from Edo state; and Nnamdi Okwy Dimgba from Abia state.

The rest are Abdu Dogo from FCT, Abuja; Abdulazeez M. Anka from Zamfara state; Owibunkeonye Onwosi from Ebonyi state; Asma’u Akanbi-Yusuf from Kwara state; Victoria Toochukwu Nwoye from Anambra state; and Enenche Eleojo from Kogi state.

The CJN also swore in 11 new judges for the high court of the FCT.

See the pictures from the swearing-in ceremony below.







































Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.