Categories: InternationalOn the GoTop Stories

Report: US visa process to get more difficult as Trump adds Nigeria to travel ban list

Oluseyi Awojulugbe

Donald Trump, president of the United States of America, may sign an executive order expanding visa restrictions to seven countries including Nigeria.

The affected countries may be Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania.

The Wall Street Journal reports that the Trump administration might not place full visa bans on these countries as the restriction may be limited to certain types of visas like the business or visitor visa popularly referred to as B1/B2 visa type.

Trump is expected to announce the expanded travel restrictions on Monday, which would also mark the third-year anniversary of the first travel ban.

However, the list is not final.

The first travel ban issued by the Trump administration affected seven countries with a Muslim majority.

The second was issued in March 2017 and a third in September 2017.

The supreme court upheld the travel ban in 2017 after two appeal courts had initially blocked the move.

The US government had said the travel restriction is necessary to prevent potential acts of terrorism because countries on the list do not adequately screen travellers.

At present, restrictions blocks travellers from Libya, Iran, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, North Korea and Venezuelan politicians. Chad, a West African country, was removed from the list in April 2018.

Wall Street Journal reports that the new countries have a “relatively higher rates of their citizens overstaying visas in the US”.

According to data released by the department of homeland security, 24% of Eritreans, 15% of Nigerians and 12% of people from Sudan overstayed their visas in 2018.

Recent Posts

  • Business
  • On the Go
  • Top Stories

Dollar crunch? Zenith Bank adopts 2015 strategy, sets withdrawal limit

Zenith Bank has sent a notice to its customers that their naira cards now have an international withdrawal limit of…

18 mins ago
  • Coronavirus Watch
  • On the Go
  • Top Stories

South Africa imposes travel ban on US, UK nationals — and cancels visas

The South African government has imposed a travel ban on nationals of the US and UK over the coronavirus pandemic. …

18 mins ago
  • On the Go
  • The Nation

Tinubu: The words of many politicians are like ‘butter under a burning sun’

Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), says many politicians do not mean what they say.…

1 hour ago
  • On the Go
  • Top Stories

Abule Ado explosion: We’ve recovered 15 bodies, says NEMA

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) says 15 corpses, including a family of four, were recovered from the scene of…

1 hour ago
  • International
  • On the Go

Germany to shut Austria, France, Switzerland borders over coronavirus

Germany is reportedly set to shut its borders with France, Switzerland, and Austria as the coronavirus continues to spread globally.…

2 hours ago
  • On the Go
  • Top Stories

NNPC: Gas cylinders hit by a truck caused Lagos explosion

The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) says the explosion that rocked Lagos Sunday morning happened when a truck hit gas…

3 hours ago