Top Stories

ROLL CALL: Ekweremadu, Stella Oduah — senators absent during voting on e-transmission of election results

Dyepkazah Shibayan

Twenty-eight senators were “missing in action” when their colleagues voted on the means by which election results will be transmitted.

The provision for electronic transmission of election results is contained in section 50(3) of the electoral act amendment bill which was passed on Thursday.

The upper legislative chamber retained an amendment by Sabi Abdullahi, senate deputy whip, who proposed that the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) must certify that national coverage is adequate and secure, while the national assembly must approve before the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) can transmit election results electronically.

Albert Bassey, senator representing Akwa Ibom north-east, kicked against the motion and said the initial proposal made by the committee should be retained.


The recommendation of the committee read: “The commission may transmit results of elections by electronic means where and when practicable.”

To retain Abdullahi’s proposal, the senators had a 52-28 vote using the “division” method which is provided for in order 73 of the senate rule book.

Using this method, the clerk of the senate calls the name of each senator who then votes “Yes” or “No.”


While the ‘NO’ vote was to empower NCC to determine e-transmission of election results, the ‘YES’ vote was to retain the aforementioned section 50(3) as recommended by the committee.

But 28 lawmakers were absent when voting took place.

Apart from Ike Ekweremadu, senator representing Enugu west, who said he was attending a plenary session of the International Parliament for Tolerance and Peace (IPTP) in Montenegro, the rest did not give reasons for their absence.

Here is a full list of the absentee senators;

Senator Constituency
Ike Ekweremadu Enugu west
Yaroe Binos Dauda Adamawa south
Stella Oduah Anambra north
Ifeanyi Uba Anambra south
Tokunbo Abiru Lagos east
Bala Na’Allah Kebbi south
Tolu Odebiyi Ogun west
Ibikunle Amosun  Ogun central
Olalekan Mustapha  Ogun east
Nicholas Tofowomo Ondo south
Teslim Folarin  Oyo central
Buhari Abdulfatai Oyo north
Aliyu Wamakko  Sokoto north
Ibrahim Shekarau Kano central
Lilian Uche Ekwunife  Anambra central
Mohammed Bulkachuwa Bauchi north
Emmanuel Bwacha  Taraba south
Mohammed Hassan  Yobe south
Olubunmi Adetunmbi Ekiti north
Chimaroke Nnamani  Enugu east
Rochas Okorocha  Imo west
Mohammed Sabo Jigawa west
Barau Jibrin  Kano north
Ibrahim Geidam Yobe east
Umar Sadiq Kwara north
Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies.