Tuesday, August 16, 2022


Rotary Club of Ikeja-Alausa central installs Adebukunola Soile-Balogun as president

Rotary Club of Ikeja-Alausa central installs Adebukunola Soile-Balogun as president
August 05
20:01 2022

The Rotary Club of Ikeja-Alausa central has installed Adebukunola Soile-Balogun as the first female president of the district.

She takes over from Deji Shonuga, the club’s charter president, and is the second president of the club.

Speaking at the investiture event which held recently, Soile-Balogun said the club is committed to contributing to society through humanitarian projects.

According to a statement, she said the Rotary Club will expend N32 million to execute the projects, adding that the projects will focus on areas around basic education, community development, peace and conflict, among others.


“The areas to deploy the resources include peace and conflict prevention/resolution; disease prevention and treatment; and water and sanitation. Others are maternal and child health; basic education and literacy; and economic and community development,” she was quoted as saying.

Omotunde Lawson, the governor of Rotary International District 9110, who was represented by Ade Oyenekan, past assistant governor, congratulated the club on its achievements, adding that the investiture ceremony should be a catalyst for the delivery of projects that have been outlined.

Wale Adegbite, the guest speaker, said members of the club should uphold virtues of service and selflessness. 


Other members of the board of directors who were also installed included Olayinka Patunola-Ajayi, president-elect; Muyiwa Akintunde, vice-president; Vincent Isaac, secretary; Remilekun Bada, treasurer; and Tolulope Ajimotokan as the club administrator. 

Others are Adeyemi Oguntirin, membership chair; Ayoku Banjoko Safatmaruwa, Rotary Foundation chair; Busayo Akomolafe, service project chair; Abiodun Sonuga, youth service chair; Charity Uzochi, history and archives chair; Deji Shonuga, immediate past president; and Omoja Abimaje, sergeant-at-arms. 

The highlight of the event was the investiture of 10 honorary Rotarians, who are members of OmegaPro, and who made commitments to the Rotary Foundation and the club.

Dignitaries at the event included Abdulrasaq Adenuga, the Ebumawe of Ago-Iwoye, Ogun state, and he was represented by Tanwa Oshinubi of Rotary Club Ago-Iwoye metropolitan. 


Ajibare Bamidele was the chairman of the occasion, while other persons present at the event were Deinde Shoga, the past district governor; Mufutau Adelotan, assistant governor in charge of the club; Valentine Shomoye, special assistant to the district governor; as well as Justus Somefun and Olubunmi Somefun, parents of the new president.


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment