On the Go

Ruben Dias named football writers’ player of the year

Jonathan Ledger

Ruben Dias, Manchester City defender, has emerged winner of the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Player of the Year award.

The FWA announced Dias, a former Benfica stalwart, winner of the award on Thursday. He wins the award eight months after joining Man City in a deal said to have been worth £65 million.

The 23-year-old Portuguese central defender claims the honour ahead of Tottenham’s Harry Kane and Kevin De Bruyne, his City teammate, coming top in a poll of 400 FWA members.

Dias is the first defender to be named winner since 1987, and the second Man City player to win since Raheem Sterling in 2019.


The commanding defender, who is also the third player to win in his first season in England, attributed the feat to the “togetherness” of Man City.

“It’s a huge privilege. I’m very, very happy. Obviously I could not have done it without the success of the team. I think me receiving this prize is the major example of our team, of how our team works the way, the way we build our game,” he said.

“I think it reflects all the togetherness, we have in the pitch, and essentially that – how we perform and the spirit that is in the team and with this team, with these players. For me to be receiving this award, I think it means just that, how we play like a family.”


Dias has led the backline with 14 clean sheets in 31 appearances as Man City coasted to a third English Premier League title in four years while also claiming the Carabao Cup.

The steely defender has the opportunity to lead Man City to an unprecedented treble with victory over Chelsea in the UEFA Champions League final on May 29.

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies.