The Nation

Senate confirms new service chiefs

BY Dyepkazah Shibayan


The senate has confirmed the new service chiefs appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari.

They are Lucky Irabor, chief of defence staff; Ibrahim Attahiru, chief of army staff; Awwal Gambo, chief of naval staff; and Isiaka Amao, chief of air staff.

The service chiefs were screened by the senate last week.

The upper legislative chamber confirmed them after Aliyu Wamakko, chairman of the joint committees on army, navy and air force, presented a report for the consideration of the senate.


While presenting his report on the floor of the senate on Tuesday, Wamakko said the nominees met the requirements expected of them.

The chairman said no petition was received against the nominations.

“We asked questions covering a wide range of subjects – on ethics; Nigeria’s war on terror and the role of the military in politics,” Wamakko said.


“Their nominations are in line with the constitution. The committee did not receive any petition against them. That they are experienced public servants.

“The nominees were articulate in their responses to questions by the committee.”

They were confirmed after their nomination was put to a voice vote by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Speaking during the screening exercise, Bashir Magashi, minister of defence, said the new service chiefs are qualified for the job.


“Our armed forces will do whatever it takes to protect lives and property and the integrity of this country,” Magashi had said.

“They (the nominees) are eminently qualified for the job.”

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies.