Senate to review two out of four bills rejected by executive

The senate has resolved to constitute a conference committee to consider the observations raised in two bills rejected by the executive.

On February 22, Acting President Yemi Osinbajo refused to give assent to four bills.

The bills are Dangerous Drug Amendment Bill, 2016; National Lottery Bill, 2016; Currency Conversion Freezing Order Amendment Bill, 2016, and Agricultural Credit Scheme Bill, 2016.

Osinbajo had explained that assent to some of the bills was withheld due to “concerns regarding words and phrases, and the spirit behind the amendment” and due to “the existence of pending legal issue”.


But in plenary on Wednesday, the upper legislative chamber decided to look into the Dangerous Drug Amendment Bill and Currency Conversion Freezing Order Amendment Bill.

Moving a motion for the two bills to be considered, Ahmed Lawan, senate leader, said: “Mr. President withheld assent to the Dangerous Drugs Amendment Amendment bill based on the concerns regarding certain words and phrases reflected in the bill that may be inconsistent with the principal Act in sections 6 and 21 respectively.

“Also Mr. President withheld assent to the currency conversion freezing orders Act amendment bill on the concern regarding modalities for the communication of asset forfeiture.”


The upper legislative chamber adopted the motion after it was put to a voice vote by Ike Ekweremadu, deputy senate president.

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.