SHORTLIST: Oshoala, Ighalo for 2018/19 Nigeria Pitch Awards

SHORTLIST: Oshoala, Ighalo for 2018/19 Nigeria Pitch Awards
April 25
21:51 2019

Super Eagles forward Odion Ighalo and Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala, have been nominated for the 6th edition of Nigeria Pitch Awards.

Shanghai Shenhua striker will have Ahmed Musa and Junior Lokosa of Kano Pillars to contend with for the Striker of the Year category.

The nomination was announced at a media briefing in Ibis Hotel in Lagos on Thursday.

Francisca Ordega of Shanghai Shengli and Super Falcon new sensation, Rasheedat Ajibade Avaldsnes IL will join Oshoala to vie for the Queen of the Pitch award.

Oghenekaro Etebo of Stoke City, Wilfred Ndidi of Leicester City and the only Gunner (Arsenal FC) in the Super Eagles, Alex Iwobi will vie for the Midfielder of the Year category.

In the Goalkeeper of the Year, Ikechukwu Ezenwa of Katsina United FC, Theophilus Afelokhai of Enyimba F.C and Francis Odinaka Uzoho of Deportivo La Coruna/Anorthosis Famagusta are shortlisted for the category.

Brighton and Hove Albion FC defender, Leon Balogun, William Troost-Ekong of Udinese FC and Kenneth Omeruo of Leganés FC will compete for the defender of the year award.

Shina Philips, president of Nigeria Pitch Awards stated that organizers were working on a plan to overhaul the organization specifically with a view to reducing the number of categories.

“We are planning a major reorganization with respect to the number of categories we have,” Philips said.

“By next edition, we will certainly have fewer categories. We believe this will make it easier for our voters to complete their votes.

“We want to remain resolute in our commitment to sustain the Nigeria Pitch Awards.

“In spite of the harsh economic situation and the increasing difficulty in convincing sponsors because of the current state of the economy, we will continue to turn up each year to provide platform for the reward of excellence in our football.

“We are confident that the future will become brighter and our football will be better for it.”

Nominees for the other categories are:

MVP in NPFL: Godwin Aguda (Enugu Rangers), Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars) and Mfon Udoh of Akwa United

MVP in the NWFL: Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons), Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels) and Rasheedat Ajibade (Avaldsnes IL)

Coach of the Year: Thomas Dennerby (Super Falcons), Gbenga Ogunbote (Enugu Rangers) and Solomon Ogbeide (Lobi Stars)

Club of the Year: Akwa United, Enugu Rangers and Lobi Stars

National Team of the Year: Super Sand Eagles, Super Falcons and Super Eagles

Referee of the Year: Ogabor Joseph Odey, Adebimpe Quadri and Ferdinand Udoh

Sam Okwaraji Awards: Kunle Soname (Chairman, Remo Stars/BET9JA, Amaju Pinnick (President, NFF) and Seyi Akinwunmi (1st Vice President, NFF)

State with the Best Grassroots Football Development Programme: Delta, Rivers, Lagos States

Football Friendly Governor of the Year: HE Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom), HE Nyesom Wike (Rivers) and HE Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta)

Football Journalist of the Year (Print): Tunde Liadi (The Nation), Johnny Edwards (Complete Sport) and Tana Aiyejina (Punch)

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio): George Iniabasi Essien (Comfort 95.1 FM), Tony Bekederemo (Sports Radio 88.9 Brila FM) and Olawale Adigun (Top Radio 90.9FM)

Football Journalist of the Year (TV): Cecilia Omoregbe (Channels TV), Mozez Praiz (Supersport) and Austin 0kon-Akpan (Channels TV)

Football Journalist of the Year (Online): Tobi Adepoju (, Kunle Solaja ( and Samuel Ahmadu (


WHATSAPP 08113975334
TWITTER @thecableng
Copyright 2020 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Social Comments


No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *




Exchange Rates

March 25, 2019USDGBPEUR
NOTE: The black market rates represent the most prevalent. They could be slightly higher or lower among different sellers.