SystemSpecs awards prizes to winners of Children’s Day essay competition

SystemSpecs, a financial technology company, has announced the winners of its 2024 Children’s Day essay competition.

The fin-tech outfit unveiled the winners of the junior and senior categories of the annual essay competition at an event in Lagos on Friday.

The event was attended by students, teachers, parents, and officials from the ministry of education.

In February, SystemSpecs invited Nigerian students in primary and secondary schools to participate in its annual essay competition.


The students were asked to write on “Protecting the Nigerian child from the dangers of online technology”.

Ernest Ndukwe, chairman of SystemSpecs, said the essay competition is an “indisputable channel for driving technological transformation in Nigeria”.

He added that the firm is committed to Nigeria’s technological development.


Ndukwe said the organisation believes that Nigeria will be better when children succeed.

“Since inception in 2020, with hundreds of million naira invested thus far, this initiative has witnessed a remarkable growth in multiple dimensions of insight, investment, involvement, and impact,” he said.

“We have taken the responsibility upon ourselves to provide every Nigerian child, irrespective of creed, culture, or constituency, with an opportunity to be exposed to the amazing world of technology.

“Notably advancing gender equality, girls are leading the charge, consistently exceeding 60 percent of total annual entries.


“This year, 70 percent of the top 10 winners are female, demonstrating our initiative’s positive impact on inclusivity.”

At the ceremony, the two students who took the first position in the junior and senior categories were given a cash prize of N1 million each and laptops.

The second position in the two categories got N750,000 each and laptops, while the third position got N500,000 and laptops.

Students ranked in the fourth to 10th positions were given consolation prizes in the two categories.


Apostolic Faith Junior Secondary School in Ibadan, Oyo State, and Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja, were awarded the winning schools’ prizes in the junior and senior categories, respectively.



1st position — Aletan Oluwajuwonlo — Apostolic Faith Secondary School, Ibadan

2nd position — Olowookere Aanuoluwa Emmanuel — Redeemer’s Academy College, Ibadan


3rd position — Gershom Somtochukwu Praise — Trintate Staff School, Port Harcourt

4. Bamiteko Christianah Opeyemi — Ambassadors College, Ile-Ife


5. Chetachi Evidence Chimdindu — Anglican Comprehensive High School, Ipaja

6. Azubike-Onyegbu Oluwakemi Mmesoma — Canterbury international school, Ajah

7. Nwako Ekenedilichukwu Frances — Famaks British School, Abuja

8 Musa Abdullateef — Army Children Junior High School, Ikeja

9. Ezeani Treasure — Mountain Crest High School, Owerri

10. Joseph Ruth Etido — Confab secondary school, Alapere


1st position — Bakare Olaoluwasubomi — Ijaiye Ojokoro Senior College, Ifako-Ijaiye

2nd position — Anoje Xavier Jesunbuchi — Loyola Jesuit college, Abuja,

3rd position — Elugbaju Iseoluwa Ruby — Word of Faith group of schools, Abuja

4. Igwe Christiana — Federal Science Technical College, Yaba

5. Enyi-Nwafor Dawn Chiagoziem — Nigerian Tulip International Colleges, Abuja

6. Emordi Kamsiyochukwu Vanessa — Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja

7. Egwuatu Ella Chigozie — Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja

8. Dagunduro Anita Oluyemisi — Deril Academy, Ibadan

9. Akinware Stella Mofinfoluwa — Prince College, Ido-Osun

10. Adewole Fatimah — Alfamath Schools, Ilorin

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.