U-20 Women’s World Cup begins

U-20 Women’s World Cup begins
August 05
11:08 2014

The 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup begins Tuesday in Canada.

The last few weeks have been a beehive of sporting activity, after the men’s World Cup in Brazil was succeeded by the Commonwealth Games in Scotland, which just ended on Sunday.

Attention now shifts to four cities in Canada – Toronto, Montreal, Moncton, and Edmonton – for the 7th edition of the tournament. The North Americans will become the first country to stage this tournament twice, after hosting the inaugural edition in 2002.

Nigeria are one of four teams – the others being Brazil, Germany and USA – who have been ever-present at the tournament.


The Super Falconets failed to advance to the knockout stages on their first two attempts. They then qualified for the quarter-finals in 2006 and 2008, but lost to Brazil and France respectively. The team upped their game in 2010 and 2012 competitions and made it to the semi-finals.

In Germany 2010, they lost only a game and that was in the final to the hosts. Two years later in Japan, Nigeria topped their group and beat Mexico in the quarter-finals before losing to USA in the semi-finals. The team finished fourth after losing 2-1 to the hosts in the third-place match.

The Super Falconets will kick off their 2014 campaign and a shot at the ultimate prize against Mexico on Thursday August 7 in Moncton.



Asisat Oshoala

Oshoala plays for the senior national team, the Super Falcons, as well the Super Falconets. This is her second tournament with the U-20 side. She was in 2012 squad that lost to Japan in the losers’ final.




DATE                   CITY                       MATCH                                    TIME

August 5              Toronto                Canada vs. Ghana                8pm ET

August 5              Toronto                Finland vs. North Korea    5pm ET


August 8              Toronto                Canada vs. Finland               8pm ET

August 8              Toronto                Ghana vs. North Korea      5pm ET


August 12            Montreal             North Korea vs. Canada     7pm ET

August 12            Moncton             Ghana vs. Finland                7pm ET



DATE                    CITY                       MATCH                                  TIME

August 5              Edmonton           Germany vs. USA                7pm ET

August 5              Edmonton           China vs. Brazil                   10pm ET

August 8              Edmonton           Germany vs. China             7pm ET

August 8              Edmonton           USA vs. Brazil                       10pm

August 12            Montreal             Brazil vs. Germany             4pm ET

August 12            Moncton             USA vs. China                        4pm ET


DATE                   CITY                       MATCH                                       TIME

August 6              Moncton             England vs. South Korea       4pm ET

August 6              Moncton             Mexico vs. Nigeria                 7pm ET

August 9              Moncton             England vs. Mexico               1pm ET

August 9              Moncton             South Korea vs. Nigeria      4pm ET

August 13            Edmonton           Nigeria vs. England               8pm ET

August 13            Toronto                South Korea vs. Mexico      8pm ET


DATE                    CITY                       MATCH                                              TIME

August 6              Montreal             France vs. Costa Rica                   5pm ET

August 6              Montreal             New Zealand vs. Paraguay         8pm ET

August 9              Montreal             New Zealand vs. France              5pm ET

August 9              Montreal             Paraguay vs. Costa Rica              10pm

August 13            Toronto                Costa Rica vs. New Zealand      5pm ET

August 13            Edmonton           Paraguay vs. France                     5pm ET

Previous Tournaments

Japan 2012

Winner: USA

Runners-up: Germany

Third: Japan

Fourth: Nigeria

Adidas Golden Ball: Dzsenifer MAROZSAN (GER)

Adidas Golden Boot: KIM Un Hwa (PRK)

Adidas Golden Glove: Laura BENKARTH (GER)

FIFA Fair Play award: Japan

Germany 2010

Winner: Germany

Runners-up: Nigeria

Third: Korea Republic

Fourth: Colombia

Adidas Golden Ball: Alexandra POPP (GER)

Adidas Golden Boot: Alexandra POPP (GER)

adidas Golden Glove: Bianca HENNINGER (USA)

FIFA Fair Play award: Korea Republic

Chile 2008

Winner: USA

Runners-up: Korea DPR

Third: Germany

Fourth: France

Adidas Golden Ball: Sydney LEROUX (USA)

adidas Golden Shoe: Sydney LEROUX (USA)

adidas Golden Glove: Alyssa NAEHER (USA)

FIFA Fair Play award: USA

Russia 2006

Winner: Korea DPR

Runners-up: China PR

Third: Brazil

Fourth: USA

Adidas Golden Ball: MA Xiaoxu (CHN)

Adidas Golden Shoe: MA Xiaoxu (CHN)

FIFA Fair Play award: Russia, Korea DPR

Thailand 2004

Winner: Germany

Runners-Up: China PR

Third: USA

Fourth: Brazil

Adidas Golden Ball: MARTA (BRA)

Adidas Golden Shoe: Brittany TIMKO (CAN)

FIFA Fair Play award: USA

Canada 2002

Winner: USA

Runners-Up: Canada

Third: Germany

Fourth: Brazil

Adidas Golden Ball: Christine SINCLAIR (CAN)

Adidas Golden Shoe: Christine SINCLAIR (CAN)

FIFA Fair Play award: Japan



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment