Tuesday, December 5, 2023


WAFCON qualifiers: Alozie absent as NFF names Falcons squad for Carpe Verde

WAFCON qualifiers: Alozie absent as NFF names Falcons squad for Carpe Verde
November 20
20:13 2023

The Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) has named 21 players for the Super Falcons‘ upcoming final round of qualifiers for the 2024 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON).

According to the list released by the federation on Monday, Asisat Oshoala, Rasheedat Ajibade and Chiamaka Nnadozie return to the Falcons squad and will lead Nigeria for the double-legged clash against Cape Verde.

Gift Monday, Christy Ucheibe and Toni Payne are also listed in the squad alongside Omorinsola Babajide and Deborah Abiodun.

The four home-based players who made the list are Esther Onyenezide, Christiana Obia, Rihanat Kasali and Akudo Ogbonna.


Notable absences include Michelle Alozie, Ifeaoma Onumonu, Nicole Payne and Halimat Ayinde.

NFF named Justin Madugu as the team’s handler for the clash as Randy Waldrum’s future as Falcons head coach remains unclear amidst contract extension discussion.

All invited players are expected at the team’s camp in Abuja between November 25 and 27.


Nigeria will host the Cape Verdians at the Moshood Abiola Stadium, Abuja, on November 30 before travelling for the return leg in Praia on December 5.

The Falcons reached the final round qualifier for the 2024 WAFCON after Sao Tome and Principe withdrew from their encounter in September.

The 2024 WAFCON is billed to be hosted by Morocco.



Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Christiana Obia (Edo Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca FC, Mexico); Glory Edet (FCF TP Mazembe, DR Congo); Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Midfielders: Christy Ucheibe (SC Benfica, Portugal); Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens); Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Jennifer Echegini (Florida State University, USA)

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain); Esther Okoronkwo (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Gift Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain)


Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.