Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Yaya Toure only African on FIFA world player shortlist

Yaya Toure only African on FIFA world player shortlist
October 28
14:53 2014

Yaya Toure, the Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder, is the only African on the 23-man shortlist for the FIFA 2014 men’s world footballer of the year award.

Toure enjoyed a good campaign with City last season, helping his side to their second Barclays Premier League title in three years.

He was also instrumental in his country’s qualification for the FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014.

Toure is joined by four other Premier League players in Thibaut Courtois, Diego Costa, Angel Di Maria, and Eden Hazard for nomination for the prestigious award.

Last year’s winner, Cristiano Ronaldo, will be looking to retain the award after another impressive performance for his club and country.

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi, who has won the award three times in the last four years, is also on the shortlist, alongside teammate Neymar.

The shortlist will be reduced to three in December before the winners are announced on January 12, 2015 in Zurich.

FIFA world men’s player of the year shortlist

Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), Diego Costa (Spain, Chelsea), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Angel Di Maria (Argentina, Manchester United), Mario Gotze (Germany, Bayern Munich), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris St-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Philipp Lahm (Germany, Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina, Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany, Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil, Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Arjen Robben (Netherlands, Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia, Real Madrid), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany, Bayern Munich), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast, Manchester City).

FIFA coach of the year shortlist

Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid), Antonio Conte (Juventus/Italy national team), Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klinsmann (USA national team), Joachim Low (Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Chelsea), Manuel Pellegrini (Manchester City), Alejandro Sabella (Argentina national team), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), Louis van Gaal (Netherlands national team/Manchester United).


WHATSAPP 08113975334
TWITTER @thecableng
Copyright 2020 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Social Comments


No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *



Exchange Rates

March 25, 2019USDGBPEUR
NOTE: The black market rates represent the most prevalent. They could be slightly higher or lower among different sellers.