NNPP’s Murtala Kadage wins Kano assembly seat

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Murtala Kadage, candidate of the New Nigeria People Party (NNPP), as the winner of Garko LGA in the Kano state house of assembly. 

Suleiman Mudi, INEC returning officer, announced Kadage as the winner in the supplementary election held in three polling units across the LGA on Saturday.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, I hereby declare Murtala Muhammad Kadage of the NNPP as the winner of the Garko Local Government state assembly supplementary election,” Mudi said.

Kadage’s victory was canceled in the initial election due to over-voting.


In the previous election, Sani Safiyanu, INEC returning officer, declared Kadage as the winner with a margin of 3,782 votes between him and Abba Ibrahim of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

However, INEC denied Kadage the certificate of return, saying the margin was higher than the number of registered voters.

Supplementary elections were held on Saturday in three polling units including Sanni Gabas I of Katumari ward, Kutunka Arewa III of Sarina ward, and Zangon Barkono I of Sarina ward.


Reacting to his victory, the NNPP candidate expressed gratitude to the people of Garko LGA for their support and promised to work for their interest.

“I am grateful to the people of Garko Local Government for their support, and I promise to work for their interests,” Kadage said.







Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.