Three Nigerians shortlisted for Africa prize for engineering innovation

Three Nigerians – Chukwuemeka Eze, Tolulope Olukokun, and Cletus Ekpoh – have been shortlisted for the 2023 Africa prize for engineering innovation (APEI).

APEI, founded by the UK Royal Academy of Engineering, is Africa’s biggest prize dedicated to engineering innovation. The prize which was launched in March 2014 aims to stimulate, celebrate and reward innovation and entrepreneurship across sub-Saharan Africa.

In a statement on Wednesday, Benjamin Harris, senior account manager at the academy, said three Nigerian nominees are among 16 African innovators shortlisted for this year’s award.

The statement noted that the Nigerians were nominated for their innovations that address the UN sustainable development goals (SDGs).


The eventual winner will receive the sum of £25,000 while three runners-up will win £10,000 each.

“This year, three Nigerian innovators are shortlisted,” the statement reads.

“Electric mobility, Chukwuemeka Eze(pictured), Nigeria – An e-mobility service which converts gas-powered three-wheel motorbikes to run on batteries, saving up to 60% on running costs.


“ThinkBikes CoolMAX, Tolulope Olukokun, Nigeria – An electric cargo bike with a battery-powered fridge to help Nigeria’s smallholder farmers get fresh food crops to market.

“Waste-to-Wealth Enhancer, Cletus Ekpoh, Nigeria – A four-part recycling system to help informal waste collectors.

“The innovations shortlisted tackle challenges central to the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals, including quality education, clean water and sanitation, sustainable cities and communities, good health and wellbeing, and clean energy.

“This year 10 African countries are represented, Angola, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe.


“Now in its 9th year, the APEI is Africa’s biggest prize dedicated to developing African innovators and helping them to maximise their impact. The winner will receive £25,000, and three runners-up will win £10,000 each. An additional One-to-Watch award of £5,000 will be given to the most promising innovator.”

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.