Osun APC talks tough as three pro-Adeoti lawmakers defect to ADP

Three members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Osun state house of assembly on Saturday defected to the Action Democratic Party (ADP).

The defectors – Tajudeen Famuyide (Ilesha west), Debo Akanbi (Ede north) and Abdullahi Ibrahim (Iwo) – were received at the ADP secretariat in Osogbo by the party’s chairman, Toye Akinola, and other executives.

The lawmakers said they left APC because of alleged nepotism. Their defection comes three weeks before the September 22 governorship election the state.

Akanbi, who spoke on behalf of other lawmakers, said: “We know the foundation of the All Progressives Congress in the state, and we agreed with Gov. Aregbesola to spend eight years in power.

“It is not that when he is leaving, he will anoint a candidate.

“We kick against nepotism in the party; many more supporters of APC are still coming to ensure the victory of Moshood Adeoti, ADP’s candidate (on) September 22.

In his reaction, the Osun APC publicity secretary, Kunle Oyatomi, said the defection was a political miscalculation.

He said the defected lawmakers must resign as members of the assembly – since they used APC as the platform to secure their seats.

“Our concern is not about their defection because that is their personal choice, but our concern is their statuses as members of the assembly.

“Since they have defected, their positions can no longer be sustained in the assembly,” he said.