Deputy governor, senators absent as Imo APC elects new chairman

The Imo state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has elected Daniel Nwafor as its chairman.

Nwafor was elected at a fresh congress. A federal high court in Owerri had nullified the previously conducted state, local government and ward congresses.

The court had held that the previous congress conducted by a faction of the party was illegal and against the party’s constitution.

The fresh congress held after the party elected wards and LGA officers on Friday and Saturday.

The congress was monitored by representatives of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and was attended by Rochas Okorocha, governor of the state.

However, Eze Madumere, the deputy governor, as well as other top members of the party in the state including some senators — Hope Uzodimma, Osita Izunaso, Benjamin Uwajumogu and Ifeanyi Araraume — were absent at the exercise.

Adesayo Ojo, chairman of the congress committee, expressed satisfaction over the conduct of the exercise.

Ojo urged he state working committee to reconcile aggrieved members of the party and reposition it ahead of the 2019 general election.

Okorocha said the large turnout at the congress confirms it as legitimate, expression hope that the exercise will deepen internal democracy.